GCP Blog Connect with us GCP on Facebook Follow GCP on Twitter GCP on LinkedIn Subscribe to GCP Newsletter Subscribe to our RSS feeds

Consortium members

art-element9The GCP Consortium comprises the 18 institutes that are signatories of the Consortium Agreement. Full members are drawn from CGIAR (9), the developing world (4) and developed countries (5), with an additional four provisional members.

Each full member appoints a representative to the Consortium Committee. The 18 full member institutes are:

  1. Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice), Cotonou, Benin
  2. African Centre for Gene Technologies (ACGT, incorporating the Agricultural Research Council, the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, the University of Pretoria and the University of the Witswatersrand), Pretoria, South Africa
  3. Agropolis (incorporating CIRAD, IRD and INRA), Montpellier, France
  4. Bioversity International, Rome, Italy
  5. Centro Internacional de Agricultura Tropical (CIAT; International Center for Tropical Agriculture), Cali, Colombia
  6. Centro Internacional de la Papa (CIP; International Potato Center), Lima, Peru
  7. Centro Internacional de Mejoramiento de Maiz y Trigo (CIMMYT; The International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center), Texcoco, Mexico
  8. Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS), Beijing, China
  9. Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA
  10. Empresa Brasileira de Pesquisa Agropecuària (EMBRAPA; Brazilian Agricultural Research Corporation), Brasilia, Brazil
  11. Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR), New Delhi, India
  12. International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA), Aleppo, Syria
  13. International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), Patancheru, India
  14. International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA), Ibadan, Nigeria
  15. International Rice Research Institute (IRRI), Los Baños, The Philippines
  16. John Innes Centre (JIC), Norwich, UK
  17. National Institute of Agrobiological Sciences (NIAS), Tsukuba, Japan
  18. Wageningen University and Research Centre (WUR), Wageningen, The Netherlands

Provisional members

  1. Centro de Investigación y de Estudios Avanzados (CINVESTAV), Irapuato, Mexico
  2. Institut national de la recherche agronomique (INRA), Rabat, Morocco
  3. Istituto Agronomico per l’Oltremare (IAO), Florence, Italy
  4. National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (BIOTEC), Bangkok, Thailand