GCP Blog Connect with us GCP on Facebook Follow GCP on Twitter GCP on LinkedIn Subscribe to GCP Newsletter Subscribe to our RSS feeds

Consortium Committee

The Generation Challenge Programme unites three sets of partners, who – together – make up the GCP Consortium members. The Consortium comprises nine CGIAR centres and 13 non-CGIAR institutes (including four provisional members).

The Consortium was formed to advance the goal of, provide support for, participate in, and encourage expanded support for and participation in the Generation Challenge Programme. This collaborative approach allows GCP partners to tap into a significantly larger collective pool of scientific expertise, funding, information and other resources. The arrangement also allows GCP to conduct research on genetic questions that cut across crop species and thereby apply innovations in one area or commodity to other areas. Investigating traits in one species or plant type may provide vital clues to unlocking similar traits in others.

Each Consortium member appoints a representative to the Consortium Committee (CC). The CC has an independent (non-institutional) Chair, Dave Hoisington.

Interveiw with the Chair of the Consortium Comittee

Full members

Institute Consortium Committee Representative
1 African Centre for Gene Technologies (ACGT, incorporating ARC,CSIR,UoJ, UoP and UoW) John Becker
2 Africa Rice Center (AfricaRice) Marie-Noëlle Ndjiondjop
3 Agropolis (incorporating CIRAD, INRA and IRD) Jean-Louis Pham
4 Bioversity International Elizabeth Arnaud
5 Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences (CAAS) Ruilian Jing
6 Cornell University Leon Kochian
7 Empresa Brasileira de Pesquisa Agropecuária (EMBRAPA) Jurandir Magalhães
8 Centro Internacional de Agricultura Tropical (CIAT; International Center for Tropical Agriculture) Steve Beebe
9 Centro Internacional de Mejoramiento de Maiz y Trigo (CIMMYT; the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center) Kevin Pixley
10 Centro Intenacional de la Papa (CIP; International Potato Center) Reinhard Simon
11 Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) Swapan Datta
12 International Center for Agricultural Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA) Marteen van Ginkel
13 International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) Rajeev K Varshney
14 International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) Hei Leung
15 International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) Melaku Gedil
16 John Innes Centre (JIC) John Snape
17 National Institute of Agrobiological Sciences (NIAS-Japan) Hirohiko Hirochika
18 Wagenningen University and Research Centre Fred van Eeuwijk

The GCP Director is an ex-officio member of the Consortium Committee

Provisional members

Institute Consortium Committee Representative
19 Centro de Investigacion y Estudios Avanzados (CINVESTAV), Mexico Victor Villalobos
20 Instituto Agronomico per l'Oltremae (IAO), Italy Giovanni Totino
21 Insitut National de la Recherche Agronomique (INRA), Morocco Mohamed Badraoui
22 National Center for Generic Engineering and Biotechnology (BIOTEC), Thailand Duangkaew Chongkachornphong

Links and downloads

 icon Amended Consortium Agreement (152.83 kB)